Introducing – the Fender Pro Junior

Listen to me, people.

I got amps. I got lots of amps.

Lots of ’em, see?

More amps than I know what to do with.

But lets narrow it down to Fender amps. I LOVE Fender amps. Within seconds I can be plugged into any of six Fender amps. We got a Hot Rod DeVille (4X10, of course, don’t be stupid), a 1980’s Stage 185, a 1970’s Twin Reverb (that is one of the more amazing things I have ever heard), a Frontman 25R (its the first amp I ever bought, I have to mention it), a Tweed Blues Junior and last but not least, a Pro Junior.

This post is dedicated to the last one on that list – the Pro Junior.

“Now Pat, with all of those killer amps you just rattled off, why the HECK are you talking about the Pro Junior?!??!???!?!111?!?!”

Well you see, Timmy, simply put, it’s because the Pro Junior kicks major butt.

It is a really simple amp. Two knobs: volume and tone. Two 12AX7’s. Two EL84’s. Solid state rectifier. 10 inch speaker and 15 watts of goodness.

They make these things in Australia, the UK, Japan, Europe and the US. Mine was made in the good ole’ USA….

Pros: I will try to make this quick and nontechnical. Honestly, this thing sounds absolutely amazing at lower volumes. You don’t have to crank it up to get it to sound good. That said, when you do crank it, it sounds amazing. I just recording two songs with it for a pretty major release that is coming out soon. But yeah, the tone is the best thing about it. It sounds really good. Plus it is simple so if something goes wrong, it is really easy to fix. All you get us a volume knob and a tone knob. There is something inexplicably awesome about just having those two knobs to mess with. I usually play with so many pedals and stuff that all the options can get a bit cumbersome. The Pro Junior doesn’t give you any of that. It is as straight ahead as can be. And it only weighs like 20 pounds!

Cons: No master volume. For you non-gearheads. A master volume control allows you to overdrive the amp without making it deafeningly loud. This little guy doesn’t have one so the only way to overdrive it is to totally crank it. That said, I replaced the stock tubes with higher gain tubes that break up earlier. They are bit louder but, hey, it’s a Fender. It’s going to make some noise. I love it. The only other thing is that when you are playing a much bigger amp, you can hear the watts. For example, the DeVille has 60 watts of output. That’s 4 times the output of the Pro Junior. And you can hear it. Not just in how loud it is, but you can just hear or feel the watts somehow. It is more powerful. This seems obvious, but if you play guitars a lot you know what I am talking about.

All that said, the Pro Junior rocks. I traded some sucker this old Line6 Spider that I had to get mine. So I basically got it free. It was the best trade I have ever made. I love this little guy. It sounds great. It’s easy to use and it’s easy to carry around. Even if you don’t play the guitar, I would suggest you get one. Just leave it in your living room and then when people come over and ask “Hey what is that thing?”, you can rattle off a bunch of the stuff that you just read  and they will be thoroughly impressed. Make it happen.

2 thoughts on “Introducing – the Fender Pro Junior

  1. I would steal this if you weren’t my friend. I might anyways.

    -James Childs

    (get it – i used a different name so if it turns up missing it isn’t me that gets in trouble)

  2. I’ve wanted one of those amps for a bit. I ended up getting a Peavey Classic 30 for cheap on eBay and have been loving it, but would like something a little smaller and possibly quieter.

Leave a Reply

