Me and Sleep…

tree-bed

So there is good news. It looks like my days of getting up at 5:00 AM for no good reason might be over. For the last week or so I have been getting up with m alarm at like 7:00 AM. It has been great.  I was getting worried. Before the last week I bet I was averaging about 4 hours of sleep a night. This is not good. For the last week I have been getting more like 6. Not great, but better.

I was getting worried because I did some research and sleep deprivation is kind of a big deal. Without adequate rest, the brain’s ability to function quickly deteriorates. Your brain has to work harder to counteract the effects of sleep deprivation, but it operates less effectively: concentration levels drop, and memory becomes impaired.

Similarly, the brain’s ability to problem solve is greatly impaired. Decision-making abilities are compromised, and the brain falls into rigid thought patterns that make it difficult to generate new problem-solving ideas. Insufficient rest can also cause you to have hallucinations. Other typical effects of sleep deprivation include:

  • depression
  • heart disease
  • hypertension
  • irritability
  • slower reaction times
  • slurred speech
  • tremors.

The moral of the story is: get enough sleep. I am more talking to myself on this one. Finally, how cool/absurd is that picture of the bed that I found??

One thought on “Me and Sleep…

Leave a Reply

