Isaiah

So I am reading through the Bible with the ESV reading plan this year.

Currently, this plan has me in the old testament book of Isaiah. And I will just say this.

It’s amazing.

—–

I grew up in a church that had pretty serious charismatic leanings. If you know much about that, you know that there is a lot of emphasis on the old testament Hebrew God (not that that’s a different God than anywhere else in the Bible) as well as emphasis on old testament prophecy both regarding the coming of the messiah as well as the end times. I’m not going to get into any of that here.

Suffice it to say, Isaiah is packed full of some amazing stuff regarding the coming messiah (Jesus), the restoration of God’s chosen people, the salvation of other people who are not Hebrew, God’s judgment, God’s comfort….it’s awesome and I get really amped just reading it.

On top of that, Isaiah’s vision of God on his throne in chapter 6 is one of my favorite passages in the Bible.

So two things:

  1. I am really thankful for the upbringing that I had that exposed me to the Hebrew God of the Bible.
  2. I know some of those old testament books can be hard to read but if you have never read them or have not read them in a long time, I really would suggest that you go back and do so. It’ll get you going.
One thought on “Isaiah

  1. Isaiah is probably one of the most powerful books (for me). It’s fun to read the prophecies and then watch them be fulfilled (through Jesus). I do love the Hebrew emphasis we got back then. Gave us a deeper foundation and better understanding of who God is (at least for the ones paying attention haha). The OT can be a tough read (all those begats), but it gives you a much bigger picture and an even deeper appreciation for the NT. Anyways, great post.

Leave a Reply

