Prayer

Been thinking a lot about prayer recently. Mostly because of some conversations I have had with a really good friend of mine.

The other day he put things in terms of having either adult conversations with God vs. coming to Him “like a child”. (Not that I am in any way trying to say that one is better than the other or one is right and one is wrong or….anything like that).

What I mean is basically this: It’s easy for me to come to God like a child. I pretty regularly will pray throughout the day. Playing the guitar. Driving. Watching soccer. Brushing my teeth. The Spirit will bring something to my mind and I will quickly pray about it. I think that’s a good thing.

What I am not good at is having adult conversations with God. There’s lots of reasons for this I guess. It’s hard for me to sit still. It’s hard for me to stay focused.

I am teaching through the book of Acts right now in my homegroup. I am struck my how much these guys prayed! They prayed constantly! They would go up on rooftops to be alone and be quiet and just pray. I have a hard time sitting still long enough in my living room to pray.

Now some days are better than others. Some weeks are better than others. I don’t want to be legalistic about it, but there is something to be said for being disciplined about “meeting” with God. Being quiet and being still and talking and listening.

I want to be better about it. Maybe I’ll pray about it.

Leave a Reply

