Sunday – 10.16.11

We were back in Nehemiah this week at our Sunday Morning Gathering. My friends will tell you, anything old testament really gets me going. There is some amazing stuff in there. You should read your Bible 🙂

There is so much to learn from the book of Nehemiah and a lot of things to be learned from the man himself. See he was a Jew. He was a prisoner. He was a nobody. But he bloomed where he was planted. He sought the welfare of the city where God had put him. He became cupbearer to the king; no small job. I think for all intents and purposes, he was comfortable. But he allowed his heart to be broken by the status of Jerusalem. And the disrepair of the city. And the status of the temple of God. And the “lostness” of the people of God.

It’s challenging for me. I live in Raleigh, NC; a place that is routinely mentioned as one of the best places to live in the America, which means its one of the best places to live in the world. I think it’s fair to say that we are pretty comfortable here. But do I allow my heart to be broken by the things that break God’s heart?

This place needs the gospel. Do I act like that’s true? Do I believe that Christ is reconciling us to himself. And do I believe that he has given me the ministry of reconciliation to spread the good news that others can be reconciled to him too?

Challenging…

Band for the week was:

John Enzor – bass

Brent Francese – drums

Jon Pritchett – elec guitar

Aaron Chappell – elec guitar

Rebecca Schlieman – vox

Patrick Downing – acoustic guitar + vox

Setlist for the week was:

All to Us – Tomlin

In Christ Alone – Visio Dei Arrg

Nothing but the Blood – Redman – Visio Dei Arrg

From the Inside Out – Hillsong

We Believe – Visio Dei

Leave a Reply

