Sunday – 11.13.11

Nehemiah 6:15-16

15 So the wall was finished on the twenty-fifth day of the month Elul, in fifty-two days. 16 And when all our enemies heard of it, all the nations around us were afraid and fell greatly in their own esteem, for they perceived that this work had been accomplished with the help of our God.

This is tough. Look at your life and ask, “What am I doing that, unless God is real and God comes though, will fall flat on its face?” I know for me I really had think for a while….and I am still thinking. People looked at Nehemiah and the Jews and they saw God. That’s what we should be. People should look at us and see God. (Matthew 5:16)

I think a lot of people would struggle to answer that question and I’m certainly not getting on anyone’s case about it. The thing is, I think most people would say, “Look, if God would just show me or tell me what he wants me to do…if it was just clear…I would do it.” Abraham’s call, while on one hand really uncertain and dangerous, was on the other hand kind of clear. God said “Get up and go” and he went. God told Jonah to go to Ninevah and preach; really clearly. So I think most people just sit around and wonder ,”what am I supposed to be doing?”

Which leads to another question..are we anywhere close enough to Jesus that we would hear him tell us to do something anyway?

Setlist for the week was:

Forever Reign – Hillsong

We Believe – Visio Dei

In Christ Alone

Give Me Faith/Oh Come Let Us Adore Him/In Christ Alone – Elevation/Visio Dei

 

Band for the week was:

Brent Francese – drums

John Enzor – bass

Amaree Davis – violin

Marty Linn – keys

Katie Pritchett – vox

Patrick Downing acoustic guitar + vox

 

 

Leave a Reply

